Welcome to my blog about food, nutrition, and dietetics!

Standard

This is me!

 

I’m Jack and these are my adventures! My passion and the reason I started my masters is in clinical care. I would love to improve peoples lives with positive thinking and empowerment.

I still have lots to learn about cooking, food, and all the rest of it …. think of this as a learning environment of sorts. I learn and you get to be entertained by my crazy adventures/troubles/triumphs in the kitchen and classroom. At the start of next year I get to tack hospital on the end of that list which will feel great!

Blogging is new to me, so I hope you’re not expecting glossy professional shots of sautéed mushrooms! I’m all about sharing experiences here, there are plenty fabulous food blogs for that stuff if its what you’re after (ones like Jeanette’s Healthy Living, Foodopia, Chasing Delicious, and How Sweet It Is). If you’re all about the Aussie experience there is an extensive list of blogs at The Last Appetite.

A warning before you read further; I like to use exclamation marks! They make the dietetics part more interesting. There’s nothing more fun than evidenced-based practice … am I right? (that was an in-joke for any students out there).

But in all seriousness there’s a marriage between dietetics, nutrition, and food that any nutritionist or dietitian will know well. In my eyes Dietetics is about managing or treating a patient using science. Nutrition is the tool used match foods to a treatment or outcome. And Food is retaught to patients to match their lifestyle. Oh and its delicious!

Having an awareness of nutrition & dietetics can benefit anyone. After all we all eat right! Have you ever thought about how your body and mind are affected by WHAT you eat and HOW you prepare it?

How it will make you feel inside and out? I’m talking beyond the mantra that lots of sugar and fat will make you obese. For instance you know that little toilet problem that you may or may not have? Well that may be cured/treated/lessened by gradually increasing your dietary fibre intake.

This is one for the guys. You know how you’ve been killing it at the gym, trying to bulk up? Well all that money being spent on supplements might be going down the drain. Sure you need to be eating more protein but there’s another solution; eat a lean steak, pure and simple. This is just my opinion but I really think that whole foods should always come out on top. There is a place for the other stuff, the olympics perhaps?

Back to those food blogs … Chasing Delicious is great for foodies (and for dietetic students with short term memory loss) because it has a really good infographic about food nutrients. Which can help broaden your knowledge into the realms of science!

How Sweet It Is, is beautifully diverse blog. Written with a down-to-earth perspective which easily resonates. I like how the blog is about food and life; simplicity. There is no pressure. You want to eat really well for a week? thats cool. Want to experiment with yummy desserts like peanut butter pretzel truffles, well thats cool too.

The credit for finding most of those blogs and for editing this one goes to a budding young writer, my friend- Jessica Regan. She does a whole lot of writing about music and travel that you can find here.

I hope you enjoy my adventures, and can learn with me as I make my way through the exciting world of dietetics! Oh, and I don’t really find the dietetics parts boring. Its the vitally important bridge between nutrition and healthcare. So without it nutritionists/dietitians wouldn’t be able to improve peoples lives.

This is what I am looking forward to most of all.

Until next time! :) Jack

P.S.: When I promise to use fewer words!

Please remember that I’m a dietetics STUDENT, so none of my opinions should be trusted! PLEASE consult an Accredited Practising Dietitian (that’s what they’re called in Australia at least) or your GP before applying anything discussed in this blog to your diet or exercise regime

Leave a Reply

